4 bike thoughts during a break

I STILL CAN’T ADJUST a drivetrain, but it’s no longer because I believe my dad, who told me I’m no good at anything mechanical. Now I understand better. I’m good and fast at typesetting, for example, which is a tricky thing I won’t be good and fast at next year if I don’t do it every day. I’m still learning things about body copy, and I’ve been setting it for years. I’ve barely learned anything about drivetrains after a few dozen sincere but sporadic stabs at adjustment.
dot_divider
PEOPLE APPARENTLY HAVE the capacity for being uplifted and burgeoned by a gorgeous sunset over a mountain pass. I look at the sunset dutifully and sometimes try to get my burgeon on, but I’m disappointed in myself. I don’t have that. I just have knowing it’s where I should be, and putting a check in that box: Where I should be. The check feels like approval. A good review I don’t need you for.
dot_divider
MY ROAD BIKE has a broken spoke so the brake rubs, even with its release lever open, and my folding bike is still in the suitcase that took it to Los Angeles and back, because it needs a new derailleur hanger before I should bother putting it back together, but I wrote today.
dot_divider
LEARNING HOW RANDONNEURS relate to each other has given me perspective on life off the bike. There’s a hierarchy that you can ignore without anyone thinking less of you, but if you try to insert yourself into it and you figure your level wrong, then you live with that. Acting like you’re still something you used to be is poison unless they know about the injury. If they don’t, you’re an awkward problem. That one’s lost. Don’t try to chase it into a win. Shut your mouth, heal up, ride a lot. Let them come back to you, if they’re coming, which they may never do. Oh well. Just put your check marks in your boxes.
dot_divider
I FINISHED HALF of today’s work list, delivered a couple of proofs, and just thought I’d enjoy mentioning those things before the second half of the climb. Have a good ride. Check.

5_bike_thoughts

4 Comments

Filed under Bicycling, Design and production, ebook production, Employment, Favorite, InDesign, Randonneuring, Senseless Acts

4 responses to “4 bike thoughts during a break

  1. I finally figured out drive trains when I discovered that they needed far less adjustment than I was giving them. What they really need is to be properly aligned and set up in the first place. Once that is done, they only need just a little fine tuning, by quarter turns, maybe only eighth turns. If the basics are in place, trying to do too much just at once just mucks the whole thing up. If the basics are in place then fine tuning is a waste of time. Deal with the big picture first, then the small stuff.

  2. If the basics are NOT in place then fine tuning is a waste of time.

  3. I’m going to keep trying.

    Another obstacle, though, is that I can’t tell when something’s bent—or even broken, and will therefore never adjust right. I just blame my lack of expertise when it doesn’t.

    Maybe I should try adjusting it AFTER taking it to the shop.

    • Nigel

      That is a good idea. Start when it’s a working right then change one setting incrementally until it’s out of whack then reverse the process. If you repeat that with the other settings, you can get a feel for what does what and what happens when one setting is off. OR you can have the shop set it up and never ever touch it. That is my approach to wheel building.

Leave a Reply

