BiKes FIXed 5¢

YESTERDAY I TALKED myself into taking my bike to the local shop instead of working. (Except for childcare, I’ve been basically working in this chair by myself for basically a month.) Mental health thing. I figured I could ask them to loosen the clipless pedals I couldn’t get the right leverage on so I could replace them with regular pedals I bought online. I’ve been wanting that since winter ended, so that I could just get on the bike and go to the store in regular clothes instead of either looking for bike shoes or riding clipeless pedals in street shoes.

So while it was there, the mechanic noticed the new bottom bracket they installed maybe 100 miles ago was loose, but he’s backed up two weeks because it’s early spring. So he loosened the pedals and handed me some tools and told me what to do about the bottom bracket.

Which I did.

Then I walked it home, since the clipless pedals were loose.

Today I took them off and put the regular pedals on.

I don’t think he really checked my crank work.

New pedals, installed properly

pedals_installed

2 Comments

Filed under Bicycling, Bikes, Whatever

2 responses to “BiKes FIXed 5¢

  1. Took it out front in the sunshine, brought out the bike toolbox and a little shop stool, got some music going on my phone…

    Don’t have the right-size crank puller.

  2. Robert Auld

    Another tool to get…. :-)

Leave a Reply

